The Attentive Life
The Attentive Life Guided Meditations
The Carmelite Sisters Prayer for Discernment
1
0:00
-8:39

The Carmelite Sisters Prayer for Discernment

A Guided Meditation
1

Hello, friends!

Welcome to our first monthly meditation!

I began attending a monthly meditation group a few years ago via zoom when I desperately needed silence, stillness, and an invitation to listen. Our leader, Helen, and the (significantly!) older women in the group served as wise elders during the hardest season of my life—all without knowing a single detail of the suffering I was experiencing. Helen’s powerful voice, guidance, and ability to make space for us helped heal me.

While we’re not on zoom together, and I don’t possess Helen’s resonant voice, I hope you’ll find this meditation to be a kind companion with you in whatever season you find yourself.

Going forward, I’ll offer one meditation on the last week of the month, and each one will either originate from a prayer, scripture, or a written work such as a poem or liturgy.

This first recording is available to all subscribers, although starting next month, they’ll be available for paid subscribers only. Thank you so much for your continued support.

If you find this meditation helpful would you let me know in the comments? I’d love to hear from you to be sure I’m offering meditations that resonate with your needs.

The Attentive Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive weekly posts with simple reflective practices and monthly audio meditations consider becoming a paid subscriber. Thank you!

Discussion about this podcast

The Attentive Life
The Attentive Life Guided Meditations
A weekly invitation to pay attention to life with simple reflective practices.
Following Mary Oliver's advice: "Instructions for living a life: / Pay attention. / Be astonished. / Tell about it."
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kimberly Coyle